• Health at The Black Box

  • Thu, 30-05-2019 at 20:00
  • Black Box
    18-22 Hill Street
    BT1 2LA Belfast
Health at The Black Box - Black Box - Belfast

BLACK BOX PRESENTS HEALTHThursday 30th MAYDoors 8pm // £12 // £10 (BB Members)We are delighted to welcome LA noise rock trio HEALTH to Belfast. Guests to be announced.In 2007, HEALTH walked into a windowless, sweat-stained venue in downtown Los Angeles to record its debut album.The band – then composed of singer/guitarist Jacob Duzsik, bassist/noise-wrangler John Famiglietti, drummer Benjamin Jared Miller and guitarist Jupiter Keyes – was locally renowned for its violent, fifteen-minute live sets. Its squalls of tribal drums, shredded guitar noise and eerily plaintive vocals sounded like nothing else in the city.At the time, that Skid Row venue known as The Smell was becoming arguably the most influential DIY venue in the world. The scene around it would launch the band to international acclaim.In 2009, they released their second LP “GET COLOR,” a significant step up in fidelity and ambition. The heaving single “DIE SLOW” became an underground hit and remains one of the band’s signature tracks. DIY bills soon turned into festival slots at Pitchfork Fest, Primavera Sound and other marquee events. Their second remix compilation included the single “USA BOYS,” recorded with Trent Reznor and Alan Moulder.In 2015, the band finally released “DEATH MAGIC,” its third LP, on the prestigious indie label Loma Vista Recordings. Years of work with producers Lars Stalfors (Lil Peep, St. Vincent), Andrew Dawson (Beyonce, Kanye West) and Haxan Cloak yielded the most precise and diverse album of their career, drawing on black metal, New Romantic synth pop, L.A. beat music and industrial sounds alike.HEALTH, now a three-piece after Keyes’ departure, played prime slots at Coachella, earned a lengthy profile in The New Yorker magazine, performed alongside acts as varied as The Neighbourhood and Deafheaven and covered New Order’s “Blue Monday” for the Charlize Theron action film “Atomic Blonde.”After releasing a series of one-off collaborations with Purity Ring, Soccer Mommy, Perturbator and Youth Code, the band’s fourth LP of original material, “VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR,” will be released on Loma Vista Recordings on Feb. 1, 2019.http://youwillloveeachother.com